Shortage of Housing has given several social consequences. Only the government who can solve the problems.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

As the limited housing options come with different societal outcomes, some people believe that the government can find solutions to this situation. I agree with the statement because the government can make regulations and predict the circumstances in the coming years.

As the lacking housing options are generally a collective problem rather than a local one, no individuals or institution can handle this pressing problem without a support of a government. Because, governments can regulate and authorise new laws. For instance, in the Netherlands housing options are limited, therefore the rents are getting higher as the demands get an increase. To solve this the Dutch government offers many rent waiver options those who lives with a different generation in the same household. The reason for that, when people choice to live together the need for a housing has shown a significant decrease.

Furthermore, the government is the right address to point out the housing system, since it has the authority to access a big data to see the prediction of changing numbers of housing needs statistically in the upcoming years. This development can guide the government by giving time to find varied solutions. For example, the Municipality of London recently has built a Data Department which specifically works on indication of the housing system in the city. According to the Major, this new office will help them to build new living areas before the need of them will rise.

To conclude, not having limitless housing options brings societal problems and governments are the ones that need to find solutions for their citizens. This is not only because they can regulate new laws, but they also have access to the big data where they can predict the near future for this very situation therefore find new ways to tackle the issue.