Technology has made children less creative than the past.

Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

There is no shortage of opinion on whether the technological innovations effect kids ability to create something or not in today’s world. I agree with the given statement. I feel in this way for two main reasons which I will explore during the next paragraphs.

First of all, video games, social media applications and game applications which have been entered our lives with the advancement of technology pose drawbacks on children’s creativity. This is because since all those above-mentioned digital programs keep children busy for long hours, kids never feel bored and therefore, they are never experience coming up with or producing something for easing these feeling of boredom. However, on the other hand, when there were no digital tools available, in order to make themselves busy, kids of that times had to find a new games and news ways to entertain themselves. My own experience on this matter is a compelling example. When I was at the primary school, back in the middle 90’s, I was playing with my friends from my neighborhood at outside for five school days, as soon as I came back from the school. Sometimes, we were creating imaginary roles to each other and we were literally performing theater games without audiences and sometimes we were making up new songs and memorizing them. On the other hand, when I observe kids from the millennial times, I see that they are even no longer playing at streets with their peers, since they are too busy to play the latest video games from their smart screens. Therefore, I believe that nowadays children are using the creativity less.

Secondly, such smart screens as laptops, tablets, smartphones are quite user friendly. By means that, in order to use these devices effectively, you do not even need to put that much effort. This is because those technological tools are smart enough to be used by only touch of fingers. Therefore, kids who are constantly using these electronic tools are not working on improving their cognitive skills and furthermore, they are not advancing the motor skills, which stands for hand and the brain coordination. As those motor skills are highly important in the progress of the brain, these situation is also negatively affecting children’s creativity. For instance, when I was going to kindergarten, almost sixteen years ago, we were all the time cutting different kind of papers and using stickers and scissor in order to create some art works out of nothing. However, when I look to my 6-year-old niece, she told me that, in her classroom at the kindergarten every kid owns tablets and their teacher playing games with them through online applications and they are never using the materials like scissors, papers and stickers.

To conclude, I agree with the given statement. I believe that the technology of today has affected children’s creativity negatively. This is because nowadays even small kids are able to use smart screens and they are most of their time by playing online games and never face with the feeling to produce something. And also, this situation is resulted in not working on their cognitive skills therefore, this lack of ability also demonstrates negative outcomes to the kids’ creativity.