Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of opinion on whether the extended family members are not crucial in our daily lives like they used to be in the past. I do not agree with the given statement. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the next paragraphs.

First of all, extended family members are the ones who help us when some unpleasant thing happens in our lives. This is because it is easy the be understood by them since they know such aspects of our lives as; chronological disease, daily life struggles, accomplishments, and disappointments. Therefore, it is extremely easy to talk to them and request help. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was preparing for a language requirement exam, which was a must from the university that I was going to start a master, I could not succeed in my first attempt and therefore, I had to re-take the exam. But there was a pressing problem from my side, and that was financial matters: I did not have the money to pay. Since the exam itself is highly costly I did not want to ask my parents again for the exact amount of money. One day when I was on the phone with my grandmother, she understood from my voice that something was bothering me, after when I explained my situation, she immediately sent me money, even though I told her to not do so. Thanks to my grandmother I solved the money issue, and I booked another exam. It can be clearly seen from this experience that if my grandmother would not help me, I could not solve my problem as easily as I did.

Secondly, I think that due to the current advancements of technology it is pretty easy to communicate with loved ones. As the years go by family members may spread out to different cities, even to different countries and continents. Nevertheless, the technology breaks all the distance barriers. For instance, I have a WhatsApp chat group with my extended family members, and all of the individuals from both my mother's and my father's side are present in that chat group. The first Sunday of every month with a specific time, we do Skype and sometimes Zoom calls to catch up and know what is going on in our lives. If the extended family members do not represent importance like in the past days, I would not do these calls, instead, I would only call my parents. Therefore, I can say that all the people from my extended family are highly valuable and important in my life.

To conclude, even though some people think that nowadays the extended family is not that essential in our lives compared to the old times, I do not agree with them. I think these people are still crucially important in our lives when we need help and maintaining the relationship is not complicated although many of them live in a great distance, thanks to the technology.