Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People today spend too much money on clothing to improve their appearance Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples

Our world has advanced rapidly, allowing modern citizens to live in a safe environment with access to proper education, transportation, luxury items, and other services provided by the government. Despite these advantages, a controversial debate that many argue about is whether it is true that people are spending excessive money on clothing to improve their appearance. People globally hold different and conflicting opinions on this topic, and no one can deny that there are negative and positive aspects to buying clothes and other beauty items to enhance how people look.

Nevertheless, if I had to choose a side, I would affirm that the statement mentioned is accurate. It is my firm belief that society feels the need to spend unlimited money on clothes to appear more attractive for several reasons, which I will develop in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, spending a lot of money on clothing is not the right mindset for people who balance their finances well. Possessing many dresses is not a basic need. It is mainly a sign of luxury. Spending your hard-earned money on unnecessary things creates considerable financial tension in mediocre households. Moreover, people are aware of the rising prices of commodities these days, so they realize the importance of saving money for necessities. This is best exemplified by my personal experience. I am a graduate student, and my fellowship is not that high. So, I often prefer not to buy clothes until they are necessary because I survive on very little money. I need to cater to my basic requirements like house rent, groceries, an electricity bill, etc. Even if I manage to have a surplus after all these expenses, I tend to save the money for future emergencies that might crop up instead of mindlessly spending it on buying dresses. If I had not been this economical and bought one dress every month, I would have been bankrupt.

On top of that, I believe that dressing up well or wearing a new dress creates a positive impression among people. Contrary to popular belief, wearing a new dress to the office helps you get a promotion and puts you in a better position in everybody's eyes, which is absolute nonsense. You can look presentable and professional by wearing almost the same pair of clothes to the office every day. One needs to be confident and optimistic in one's abilities to hold a position of power and respect. For instance, my father never encouraged anyone in our family to spend money on things unnecessarily. He is a businessman and just had a certain number of shirts, and for many years he wore those shirts to the office every day without planning to buy any new clothes for himself. His colleagues respect him despite this, and he has made significant business deals. Hence, I acknowledge that people nowadays understand that wearing a new dress has nothing to do with a person's social status.

To sum up, I believe that in the present day, people recognize the importance of not spending extravagantly on purchasing new clothes and realize that dressing up well does not hold much significance in terms of who the person is.