Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Our current way of life will have a negative impact on future generations

Today we live in a modern world where we heavily rely on technology, which plays an essential role in our daily lives. For instance, access to social media, watching shows through programs, meeting people online, and studying through platforms. Due to the advanced technology that exists, citizens have the advantage of living in a safe environment, ensuring children get the education required and commodity. Although the lifestyle we are practicing may look good, overall, it is no mystery that it will have a negative impact on future generations.

A controversial debate that many discuss is whether our contemporary way of life will have a detrimental impact on future generations, and opinions are varied. However, I believe that current living standards will be a challenge to the next generations. Those who disagree may argue that our society is improving over time, but I firmly think that this is the case for three key reasons, which I will discuss in the following paragraphs.

First, despite the positive aspects of our lifestyle, it is evident that our use of plastic and other resources will affect the decisions and paths of the future. Drawing from my own experience, when I was young, it was common to go to the beach and do various activities, such as swimming, collecting seashells, and reusing plastic cups to build sand castles. However, presently, the number of plastic being used and thrown away is increasing drastically, especially during the pandemic, leading governments globally to alter and create policies related to recycling plastic or banning the use of plastic. Nevertheless, in spite of these restrictions, people continue to utilize plastic through food deliveries, school projects, and one-time items. It is crystal clear to see why the amount of plastic will continuously grow, causing future generations to have more environmental issues and problems with plastic.

Second, with the growing population, I affirm that competition will be heightened and resources will be shortened, causing more stress and problems concerning academic and economic opportunities. To illustrate my point, when I moved from Guatemala to South Korea, I realized that the educational level in Guatemala was viewed as low and common sense in South Korea. The reason is mainly that students from elementary to college go to 1-1 tutors or academies to receive higher education than in their schools in order to outshine other students. Besides that, with a great number of people working in business and politics, plus a few people in agriculture, it is obvious that resources like oil, coal, and food will be reduced, causing prices to rise tremendously, resulting in their having an economic struggle, which would not allow them to strive but suffer slowly.

To sum up, I hold the position that our actions will cause more harm than good due to unwise decisions we make on using resources and growing populations, despite claims that future generations will have a better life as a result of expanding knowledge, wiser policies, and developed science.