Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Smartphones have caused more harm than good to our society.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Make sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Smartphones have become a part and parcel of everyone's life. No one can deny the fact that there are both positive and negative aspects of using a smartphone. I would disagree that smartphones have brought about ill-effects than positivity to a community. It is my firm belief that a smartphone has more important usefulness for several reasons, which I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, a few years back from now. We were dependent on books, the experience of other people, and other forms of paper-based resources to acquire knowledge. If we had to research or gather certain information on a topic, we had to visit libraries and refer to various materials which was a painstaking and time-consuming process. However, the introduction of smartphones has made it possible to get all this information at our fingertips. For example, If I was stuck with a problem of finding the correct algorithm to calculate the number of datasets required for my software to function correctly then it is just a matter of clicking a button and searching it online, and all the relevant information on that topic will be readily available for us to use. Therefore, smartphones have made it possible to every individual to have access to a vast array of information at the comfort of their home.

Secondly, using a smartphone can help us stay connected with our friends and families. Smartphones these days have become so much more user-friendly that anyone can use them and at the same time they have become affordable as well. Big companies are investing so much into research and development work to make a smartphone affordable and user-centric. For instance, one year ago, I was out to a different country for training during which I was able to stay connected with my family using calls, messages, and video technology. Therefore, smartphones have become affordable to every individual despite their social status and consequently, made it possible for everyone to stay connected with each other.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that smartphones can prove to be the best weapon in this digital era. It can aid people to stay connected and learn new things anywhere and everywhere.