Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“It is more important for students to study art and literature than it is to study math and science.”

Provide reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Some experts argue that studying art and literature has significant benefits for young people. They cite that studying art and literature enhances their creative abilities. However, I strongly disagree with these people and believe that learning math and science is far more advantageous for young people. I will support my viewpoint with two reasons.

First of all, subjects like mathematics and science have a positive impact on students because they contain information that relates to our daily activities. For example, it is inevitable that we will come across a situation where we will have to know some basic mathematical calculation to pay off a merchant or a shopkeeper. Whereas without the knowledge of math, it will be difficult for an individual to do this kind of basic task in life, consequently, they might feel embarrassed in public. Thus, having knowledge of these two subjects is important and at the same time beneficial to a student in his or her daily chores.

Second of all, students with majors in math and science are highly paid because many of the big companies, hire people who have knowledge in these fields. For instance, in this digital age, there are many technologically driven companies that will definitely require expertise in both these areas for them to execute certain projects. People with expertise in math can be an ideal asset for a company to deals with huge numerical analysis tasks; people having a good knowledge of science can be necessary to solve some scientific problems. In the past, art and literature might have been important and a requirement in the job market but with the changing world; students with good knowledge of math and science are demanded. It is important for children to be exposed to these subjects because they are able to be influenced at such a young age. Thus, math and science are actually beneficial for students.

To conclude, the issue of whether students should learn art and literature or study math and science is complex. Some have suggested that art and literature boost the students’ cognitive abilities. Nevertheless, I still contend that math and science are advantageous for students and that they have a wholly encouraging effect on their lives.