"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company, who is the writer if this analytical piece has made a disjointed argument that increasing the advertsing will ensure increased viewership of the movies that the company produces. In support of this he asserts that, in spite of fewer people wacthing their movies last year, there was an increase in the positive reviews about specific Super Screen movies. Thus, it is not the content of the films but the lack of awareness of the people about their good quality movies that is responsible for the reduced number of viewers. The argument seems plausible at first, however a deeper analysis reveals some logical fallacies.

To begin with, a major lacuna in the argument is that it relies on the percentage of good reviews to maintain that the quality of their movies does not require improvement. However the question that needs to be answered is that have the number of people who reviewed the movies increased or remained constant. If this is not the case, and the reviewers have reduced, it maybe possible that the number of people who do not like the company's movies stopped reviewing or altogether abandoned watching them. This lead to an increase in the percentage of the positive reviews. However it does not imply that the number of people who enjoyed the movies is high. Thus the writer of argument must answer the above question before coming to any conclusion.

Secondly, the reviewers have given increasingly positive reviews about some specific movies of the company. However, an important question is that what is the number of these movies and the ratio compared to the total films released that year. It is possible that, company produced about twenty movies that year and only one or two got high number of positive reviews while the others were panned by the reviewers.

Furthermore, the author unfairly attributes the reason of reduced number of viewers this year as compared to the other years to the fact that the advertising was not enough. However the question arises that was the advertising that year indeed lesser than that of other years. If the budget and advertising done for the movies this year was the same as the years before, then evidently there is some other cause of the viewership decline. It maybe possible that the company released may movies of the same genre. Thus, prople showed barely any interest to watch them. Also it is likely that the release dates of the movies clashed with other movies that people were more interested in, thus they chose to go for those. Unless the doubt regarding the actual reason of the reduced viewership is cleared, the author's argument does not hold water.

Thus, the writer of this piece has made an argument on some wishy washy observations. A number of questions arise on analysing it carefully. Unless the writer bolsters the argument with sufficient evidence, his claim that an increase in the advertising budget and reaching out to more public, will ensure a subsiquent rise in the people watching the the Company's movies, does not hold much weight