The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of this argument has optimistically arrived to the conclusion that all parents considering to start music lessons for their children, should consider Mozart School of Music. He supports this argument by stating by the school is open to admit students of all abilities and ages, there are no auditions, almost all musical instruments and styles are taught, some highly well known and skilled musicians are a part of the faculty there and many of the alumni of the school are well paid and professional musicians. The argument seems plausible at the first look, however on an in-depth analysis reveals some obvious fallacies.

First, a major lacuna in the argument is that, the author is assuming that the perks mentioned in it are enough to entice parents into enrolling their children in the school. It is assumed that the parents will not look for any other features of the school . However it is possible that parents may take into consideration other aspects too like the fee structure, the time schedule and so on. But information regarding these is not mentioned anywhere in the piece. If these are the primary factors that are being considered, then the argument will be significantly weakened.

Secondly, the writer prematurely assumes that the school not conducting any auditions and welcoming young people of different ages and abilities is a feature that parents will appreciate. There is no mention, if the students of varying expertise and ages will be segregated. It is highly likely that parents of children that are already having some knowledge of the concerned musical instrument may not want to place their children in the same place with tyros as it may hamper their progress. Also the parents of beginners may not want their children learning abreast with the more experienced ones as they maybe intimidated and discouraged by them. If this is true then the argument becomes tenuous.

Finally, the writer mentions that many of its past students are qualified musicians. However it does not mention about how those who have not made it as one these musicians are fairing assuming that it is not important. If they are having well-paying respectable jobs in the field of music or if their education in the field has proved futile. If the latter is true, then parents may not want to send their children to a place where their futures are questionable.

Thus the argument has been based on several wishy-washy assumptions which may not be true. The author must bolster these with evidence about additional information like the fees and the schedule of the school, if students will be separated based on their age and existing musical knowledge and the current professional status of the students other than those who are the highly paid and professional ones. However without any of it, the argument that considering the perks mentioned, the parents should enroll their kids in the Mozart School of Music does not hold much water.