Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

A strong judicial system is imperative for maintenance of law and order in any country. This possible only when people respect and deligently follow laws that have been enacted. Thus, I disagree with the statement that laws should be flexible depending upon the various circumstances, times and places. I hold this opinion for two main reasons which I will explore in the essay.

To begin with, if the laws are usually created taking into consideration the circumstances, time and places. There are different laws for different circumstances. For example, if a person intentionally killed another person, then the crime is considered as a murder by law and the punishment for it is severe. However, if he is driving his car under the influence of alcohol and accidently causes the death of a pedestrian, then it is considered culpable homicide and the punishment for it is less severe. Thus there are already separate laws enacted taking into account the occasions, times, places. Thus there is no point in keeping them flexible and liable to be mended as per circumstances.

Secondly, keeping the laws flexible can cause them to be misused greatly. The defaulters of the law may create false evidence to prove the reasons they have broken the law and get away easily after breaking the rules. For instance, if the laws for punishment against over-speeding are kept malleable depending on the reasons the person was going faster than the limit, many people will lie about the same and evade the ticket and the punishment. They may even fabricate some false evidence for proving it. Thus the effective law and order will be comppromised.

However there are some cases when laws need to be mended. For example, in India youngsters below eighteen years of age were not allowed to be punished inspite of comitting henious crimes like rape. However after a rape case where one of the convicts was seventeen years of age, the law was mended and the age was made sixteen.

Thus, in conclusion, in most circumstances laws should not be kept flexible as it can cause misuse of laws and mostly laws have already been made taking into circumstances, places and times. However, some cases might necessitate revision of the laws altogether.