The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A conducive environment is crucial for ensuring progress of any organization, as a whole and its individual members. Thus, it is the responsibility of any leader to himself to get along with all his subordinates and respect their views and opinions rather than always trying to compete for the best for himself and he should make sure that other members follow the same conduct. Hence I do agree that rather than competition mostly it is better to instill a sense of competition among the youth so as to prepare them for leadership roles in later life.

Firstly, the output of any organization or industry is promoted when the individuals work as a team. Whereas when selfish motives come in, it hampers its development. A good leader should always put his self-interests secondary to those of his organization. For example, the chief minister should always try to focus that his cabinet of ministers is functioning efficiently, if their having any complains or grievances and if their state is progressing adequately instead of competing with the chief ministers of other states for being the best. Thus instilling the values of cooperation in the young malleable minds is imperative as it will mold them to become good leaders in the future.

Secondly, if a leader is always competitive, it will create an unhealthy environment. The juniors will most likely follow their boss' footsteps and everyone will engage in a cut-throat competition to get to the top. As opposed to that a leader who propounds the importance of co-operation among his team, will most likely create an amiable work environment, where everyone is working towards a single goal as a team. For instance, in a soccer match, the captain should be more concerned about how to make his team win the game, rather than the number of goals he scores.

However, a competitive environment has its own perks. For example, limited spots in the school band, will encourage the candidates to practice harder. Competition among scientists of nations to develop a vaccine for a pandemic will lead to the process getting expedited and thus prove to be a benefit to the mankind. However this is only beneficial as long as the competition is healthy. Thus even if the youth are taught to be competitive, it is imperative to teach to keep it from turning into a rat- race.

Therefore the issue is complex with no right answers. While a healthy competition does have perks of its own, in my instilling the values of co-operation in the young souls will ensure them from engaging in dirty politics or any fierce competition. Thus it will ensure their success as capable leaders by prevention of creation of an unhealthy environment and not letting personal selfish interests hamper the development of the organization they head.