Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior. Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

'A child's mind is like clay used to make pots, it can be moulded in any form depending on the potter'. While various forms of media can have a profound effect on the minds of the children and cause them to take the path of violence, in my opinion, it is the children's peers and friends who have much stronger effect on their personalities as compared to the former. I hold this point of view for several reason which I will explore in the essay. First, children spend majority of their childhood days with their parents. They usually tend to idolize their mother and father. Thus, the behavior of the parents tends to affect the children a lot.

Children that come from broken homes or those who have dysfunctional families or those whose parents exhibit violent tendancies tend to penchant towards violence themselves too. For instance, a boy who has seen his alcoholic father being violent towards him as well as towards others, is highly likely to grow up assuming that this is an acceptable behavior tendancy. Hence, the odds that he will himself be a violent individual are very high. Therefore, since children look up to their parents, the behavior of the parents has one of the most powerful influences on the kids.

Apart from their parents, the children spend most of time with their peers. Thus, the peers will have a profound effect on them too. Many-a-times children tend to imitate the bellicose behaviors of their peers so as to fit in with them or prevent themseleves from being bullied. For example, a boy who was initially docile may have been bullied frequently by his classmates. Hence, he himself started developing an aggressive attitude to prevent this. After a change in his behavior, the children who initially used to hector him, may start to be his friends due their similar aggressive natures. This is how, peers have a particular great effect on influence a young mind and causing him to become a violent individual. While it is true that, various forms of media today like sitcoms or movies tend to glorify violence. This can certainly affect a child's malleable mind who may begin to think that violence is acceptable because of the way it is potrayed in the media. However, if the child has a good family and friends, they can always prevent him from slipping into the path of violence.

Therefore, in my opinion it is the parents and the peers who have the maximum influence on a child's personality and can cause him to adopt violent paths. This is because, children tend to associate the most with their peers and tend to look up to their parents. Therefore their behaviors affect the child the most.