"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The writer of this piece of argument has drawn an optimistic conclusion from a disjointed idea that there should be an increased investment in unmanned space missions rather than manned ones. In support of this argument he has stated that manned space flights are dangerous and expensive. Also, unmanned ones help us garner a large amount of information as well. Thus unmanned missions would be a more frugal and a safer alternative. The argument seems plausible at first, however, a deeper analysis reveals several assumptions.

To begin with, the writer has prematurely assumed that manned space missions are costly and dangerous. He has not provided any evidence to prove this fact. It maybe possible that, several years ago, there were a few accidents in manned space missions. However, with recent development and modern technology, manned space flights may have become a safe alternative. The writer must provide some authentic statistics to prove that the manned space missions are indeed as dangerous as he claims them to be. If he is unable to support this assumption with sufficient evidence, his argument does hold merit.

Secondly, the author has presumed that the information provided by the unmanned probes and satellites is equivalent to the one provided by the manned ones. While it maybe true that they do provide useful data, this maybe minuscule compared to that provided by the manned flights. Thus manned flights with a little more investment maybe providing us with a large quantity of information, which is impossible to collect via unmanned ones. Therefore more proof is required to confirm the unstated assumption that the unmanned flights provide us with sufficient information, that will make them worth investing resources in.

Finally, the author has unfairly assumed that unmanned missions are safe and inexpensive themselves. However this might not be true. Though the risks and costs related to sending humans into space are obviated, there maybe several extra costs incurred in unmanned missions in order to ensure that they operate well without any human being in them to control their activities. Also the chances of them losing contact with the space stations are higher since there are no people in them to attempt to re-establish communication, if lost. This can be cause of major losses. At the same time, chances of these satellites and probes while launching or while they are still in the earth's atmosphere exist. In such cases they may explode or fall back on the earth's surface and be the cause of accidents as well. Thus sufficient data on the overall costs and risk factors associated with unmanned flights is imperative before drawing a conclusion that they are safe and cost-effective.

Thus, the argument made by the author of this analytical piece rests on several wishy-washy assumptions that might not be. He must gather suffient evidence to bolster his argument. Only thecan we appropriately analyse the vitality of the recommendation that unmanned missions are a safer and lesser expensive option to manned ones and hence most resources must be invested in them.