The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this memorandum has optimistically assumed that they should increase the time they devote to weather and local news so as to attract more viewers and not lose any more advertising revenues. In support of this he has stated that in the past there have been various complaints pertaining to the coverage of local and weather news and many local businesses who used to advertise with them have canceled their contracts. The argument put forth by the author seems plausible at first, however on a deeper analysis reveals some obvious fallacies.

A major lacuna in the argument is that the author states that the author has assumed that the various complaints that are pertaining to the local and weather news have all been about increasing the coverage. It maybe likely that the viewers maybe asking the channel to reduce the coverage of these topics even further. Thus more evidence needs to be provided about the nature of the complaints and if all them were related to requesting the channel to hike up the time devoted to the related news. If they were not, then the increasing the local and weather news time is not a feasible option.

Furthermore, it has been assumed by the writer of this piece that there have been several complaints from viewers over the past years. But there is no mention about the number of viewers who have had complaints. It maybe possible that a few viewers may have been repeatedly lodging complaints about the same problems, whereas several others are satisfied. Thus making the changes over the complaints of a few people will make majority of the viewers dissatisfied. Thus the author must provide more proof about the number of people who have complained rather than simply stating the number of complaints.

Finally, in the argument, the writer prematurely assumes that the reason that local advertisers have bailed upon the late-night news program show, is that the weather and news time is insufficient. It maybe likely that the channel charges a high amount for them to advertise during their show. Thus till the time more details are provided about the exact reason of the reduction in the number of advertisers, the assumption cannot be made.

Thus, the author has made an argument based on several wishy- washy assumptions. He must bolster these with evidence regarding the nature of complaints received, number of viewers who have complained and the exact reason why many local advertisers have dropped contracts with them. Till he doesn't do that, the argument does not hold water.