Reading paper materials is better than watching electronic devices to gain information.

The modes of gaining knowledge and information have evolved considerably with changing times. While few decades ago, one had to solely rely on various printed materials like books, articles, newspapers and so on, today the electronic devices and the internet have taken over the same. Due to the convenience of their usage and the speed, I am of the opinion that reading paper materials is not as good as watching electronic devices.

Firstly, the gaining information via electronic devices are much easier to compared to gaining it the printed materials. For instance, in order research about a topic for his presentation using printed materials, a student may have to go to the library to borrow books or to a book store to buy them. This may not always be feasible especially if he is sick or if the weather conditions are bad. As opposed to that he can do the same work on this laptop or his smartphone sitting at home without having to worry about stepping out of his house.

Secondly, obtaining information is much faster via electronic devices that reading material. For example, when the student goes to the library for his research work using printed materials, he will have to spend hours searching for the books and journals appropriate for his research. This will consume a large share of his time and may leave him with very little time for actually working on his presentation. As opposed to this, using his laptop and the internet, he can do the same amount of research within a few minutes time. Thus electronic devices are always a good time saving alternative to reading material.

Finally, the information on the electronic devices constantly keeps getting updated which is not the case with reading materials. For example, if a new vaccine is invented, it will be immediately accessible via internet on the smartphones and computers whereas it may take months for a book to be written or an article to be published that encompasses this new piece of information.

Therefore in conclusion due to them being much more convenient to use, causing lesser time wastage and constantly getting updated with fresh facts and information, electronic devices are better means of gaining information than the printed reading materials.