A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Any act that defies the code of law formulated by the government is a crime. Everyday a surfeit of crimes is committed, ranging from trivial ones like shoplifting to heinous ones like murder. Although I agree with the law that all criminals need to be punished, I do not completely agree with all of them being stripped off their civil rights and right to be benefitted from their labour, because the nature of every crime and criminal is different and this practice can be abused by many prisons and their officials.

To begin with, the severity of every crime, the intentions behind it and the contrition that every criminal has committing it are different. Therefore, it would be an incorrect practice to employ equally draconian punishments for all of them. For example, a homeless woman may have stolen food from a man because her children were hungry and, in the process, may have hurt him a little. She has committed the crime out of desperation and is extremely remorseful about the consequences of her actions. The woman in should be punished but not with a harsh punishment which involves depriving her of all her rights

Further, if the criminals in prison do not have any rights the prison officials may abuse this. For instance, in a women’s prison with all female prisoners, there may be male prison guards who may exploit the fact that the women are without any rights. This may cause a surge in the rape cases in the prisons, with little or no action taken against the perpetrators. Also, the women can be subjected to extremely harsh forms of labor and this can be detrimental to their health. Therefore, by making an attempt to protect the code and taking away rights of criminals, we may be paving way for more crime.

However, there are cases of where criminals show no rue about their actions. For example, terrorists who kill several people and cause excessive damage to public and private property but show no regret. Such criminals deserve the most harsh punishment. They do not deserve any rights as citizens and must be stripped off most of these rights, as also made to carry out unpaid labor. Thus, the above examples show that not all criminals deserve to have their civil rights and the right to be paid for labor, been taken away.

Thus, the issue is complex with no right answers. However, I feel that depending on the crime, the severity of the measures taking with respect to depriving the criminals off their rights must be taken. Also, it should be ensured that no person takes undue advantage of this practice. Only then can it be ensured that, a just judicial system is being fostered.