Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

For a person to be proficient in any field, it is essential he has enough theory and practical in it. As having hands-on experience is crucial to achieve excellence, I agree with the statement that academic institutions should make it mandatory for it's faculty members to gain some work experience in the field they are studying. I hold this opinion for two reasons which I will explore in the essay.

Firstly, many a times, the faculty members keep teaching in academic settings for a very long period of time. This causes their teachings to be monotonous and highly bookish. Some of the points they teach may not even have practical relevance anymore. For example, a teacher in a law school who keeps teaching students how to go about legal proceedings to fight cases, may not have set foot in a courtroom for years. Thus his teachings, which are hardly based on practical knowledge may misguide the pupils. If he spends few weeks every year gaining practical experience in the field, he maybe able to give the students more in-depth teaching of the subject.

Furthermore, there are may new discoveries and inventions that keep taking place. It may not always to be possible to learn about them via the medium of reference books or magazines. Unless the faculty member has a practical experience with this new development in his field, he will not be able to properly teach his students about it. For example, a new surgical technique has been invented. A medical school professor must first observe and is possible perform it before teaching the aspiring medical students about it.

However, it may not always be feasible for faculty members to get working experience regularly about the courses taught by them. For example, some faculty members maybe too old to be able to work and get professional experience.

Thus, in conclusion, I feel that since practical experience helps the professors get a better perspective of the field and familiarize themselves with the latest developments,it should be made mandatory for most of them.