All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Companies always have an aim to keep flourishing and out-perform their competitors, so as to maintain their place in the cut throat business race. For this purpose, they are constantly in need of inflow of new ideas to increase their efficiency. Many of them resort to seeking advice from outside consultants from this instead of turning to their own employees for this purpose. Like every coin that has two sides, this practice has its pros and cons. But I mostly disagree with this tendancy of the companies for two main reasons.

To begin, employees are the heart and brain of every company. No outsider will know about the details like the firm like they do. They have lived through and stuck around with the company through the good and bad times. Hence they are the best people to consult regarding the improvements that need to be made in order to improve the efficiency. For example if a paper company wants to multiply its sales, the best people to consult about this would be the employees from the Sales and the accounting department who have the maximum knowledge regarding the sale trend and the causes of the low sales as also they maybe having some valuable insights about how to improve the sale record by either lowering the prices or providing their clients with some offers. Hence they will prove more beneficial to the company development than any outside consultant.

Secondly, consulting employees for topics pertaing to improved efficiency of the company will make them feel heard and respected. This will improve their sincerity, probity as also their work efficiency. If some third party is consulted for this purpose, it will not only cost the company in terms of money that these consultants demand but also in terms of the efficacy of the employees who may feel insulted by this. for instance, when an employee gives a suggestion about increasing company profits and it is implemented, he will feel worthy and it will increase his sincerity and integrity towards the company.

While some may agree outside consultnats may have more experience in this field their intergrity and authenticity is always questionable.

Thus due to it increasing the efficiency of the employees themselves and of the company, the companies should consult and hearkin to their own employees rather than outside consultants.