“‘It takes a village to raise a child’. The education or your children is the task of the community as a whole, not merely the province of teachers and local school administrators.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The education that children receive is crucial for their career and a variety of future endeavors. If the child gets poor quality of education, then it can prove to be detrimental for him. Therefore I mostly disagree with the statement that it should be the responsibility of the entire community to educate the children. This is because the child can be exposed to a surfeit of misleading incorrect information and they are never motivated to stop their education.

First, if the responsibility of education is rested on the society, then the children can get a lot of data and information from people who are not qualified or experienced like the teachers. Therefore the child may grow up believing these incorrect pieces of information to be true. For instance, if the community around the child teaches him that the earth is flat, then he may grow up thinking this fallacious piece of information as the truth. Also he may grow up to pass on this information to the next generation too. Thus resting the task of children's education on the inexperienced and barely knowledgeable elements of it can inculcate a large amount of faulty data in the malleable minds of the children.

Secondly, school or other educational institutions are formal settings where children attend classes, maintain discipline and learn to respect their teachers and the school administrators. This makes them value the education their receiving. As opposed to that is the task of educating them is bestowed on community, then it will promote an informal environment. This may cause them to disrespect education. For example, if a local person teaches the students Mathematics, those who find this subject tough may simply stop attending his lessons. This is not possible in a school where skipping classes is not all that easy. Also the final tests that determine the student's knowledge, push them into studying harder. Thus the responsibilty of education, when rested on schools and teachers have much better outcomes.

However, what we as a community can do is encourage our children, inculcate in them the importance of education and set good examples for them.

Thus, in conclusion, though a community can play a helping hand in the children's education, it should not be their responsibility to educate them. This task should be done only by experienced teachers and school administrators so that the children are exposed to authentic education and they do not lose interest in education.