An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

The trust that a patient shows towards his doctor is a crucial part of in the course of the treatment. While it is imperative that patients should be informed if a doctor is competent enough to treat the conditions they are suffering from, I do not completely agree with the given recommendation that sick patients must be provided access to past records of the doctor to determine the latter's competency in treating his illness.

I hold this opinion for two reasons which I will explore in the essay.

To begin with, patients lack the expertise and knowledge of a doctor. They may not always understand why the medical professional took a particular course of treatment for a particular patient. For example- He may have chosen to not operate on a particular patient with a cancer because the disease may have been advanced and a surgery may have done more bad than good for that patient. Another patient with a similar condition, who is given access to the record of this case, may attribute the doctor's decision of not performing the surgery to the ultimate demise of the patient. He may wrongfully conclude that the doctor lacks the expertise to treat his disease. Thus, the inadequate medical knowledge of the patients can cause them to come to conclusions about the doctors, which may not always be true.

Secondly, a patients accessing the past records of the doctor may cause him to stumble upon a few failures that may have occured in the doctor's treatments in the past. This may have been due to various reasons that the patient may not always be aware about. For instance, if an antibiotic prescribed by the medical expert, fails for a patient; then the next patient accessing his records may develop a negative opinion regarding the doctor. and he may refuse to try the drug. When in reality, antibiotics that fail to work on one patient may be very effective on the other. Thus reading about a few misfortunes in a doctor's professional career may cause the patient to lose faith in any of the lines of treatments that he prescribes.

However it is true that some doctors have been engaging in some unethical practices and have been charged of gross medical negligence in the past. It is imperative that the patients should be given proper informaton about such cases.

Thus, in my opinion, due to the inadequate knowledge of the patients about medicine and them not knowing the exact reason behind the failure of treatment that the doctor has prescribed in the past, the patient should not be given complete access to their doctor's past medical records as it may hinder the doctor patient relationship.