Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Education is a fundamental right of every person. Many a times, students who yearn higher education, are not able to pursue it due to monetary issues. In my opinion, Governments should offer free university education to non-affording students that admitted to the university a low economic status should never stem the dreams of a person to pursue higher education.

Every year, there are thousands of students who drop out of school as they are not able to afford the sky high fees of their dream colleges. They take land up taking various menial jobs with the dream that one day it will help them save enough money to pay the college tuition fees. Some of them are able to achieve this dream while the others get mired in these jobs almost all their lives. For example, even the famous scientist Marie Curie had to work as a governess for seven years so as to finance the education of her sister, who after getting a job financed her. Her life would have been much easier and the world would have be bestowed by her discoveries much sooner, had the government agreed to defray her tuitions and fees. This example demonstrates of how much help it would be for students if their higher education would be made free.

Secondly, the exorbitant fees of higher education do nothing but promote a plutocratic world. The affording rich people get the best education while the poor are deprived of it. Thus the already rich population occupy all the high paying jobs whereas the poor ones end up working under them. Thus the rich keeps getting richer whereas the poor keeps on getting poorer. This becomes a vicious cycle and thus tends to keep widening the gap in the rich and poor. Therefore making university education free for the penurious will give them a fair chance at the cut throat competition they ought to face in life.

While some may argue that there are various scholarships and loan options for non-affording people and these may help them pay their university fees, it must be noted that ratio of such options to the total number of needy students is miniscule. Furthermore, not many students are aware of existence of such options thus they are not benefitted much from them.

Therefore, in conclusion in order to give the deserving students a fair chance and preventing the rich from getting an unfair advantage at procuring education which is a basic right of everyone, I am of the opinion that the Governments should provide free university education to the students who cannot afford to pay the tuition.