"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo proposes to boycott the products of Crust Copper Company (CCC) in order for them to abandon its mining plan on West Fredonia. The author of the writing a proposes a valid argument, one that would be true if its premises were reliable. However, his or her conclusion relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.

Firstly, does requiring new lands always mean building new mining areas? Maybe CCC is buying these lands to make investment for its workers. Maybe they are building recreation areas or more importantly housing facilities for its mine workers to show the world that the management of CCC is caring about their workers. In addition, with this kind of an immense invest in West Fredonia, many tourists will choose her over other near tourists destinations. Maybe, this new facilities will be a harbor for endangered animals, and give them the opportunity to reproduce more without any outside effect. If one of these examples turns out to be true, the logic of the argument falls apart.

Secondly, the author assumes that mining activities of CCC will directly and negatively affect the nature of West Fredonia. This is a harsh inference to make under these circumstances. The world has changed a lot and the technology used by big industries is more cleaner, efficient and friendlier anymore. Did the author make any investigation about the recent technological developments in the mining industry? How can a copper mine be so deleterious that it will cause extinction of some species? Many governments are applying strict rules and high penalties to environmentally effective industries, so companies are very careful when establishing new compounds and business areas. Thus, it is rather inappropriate to assume that activities of CCC are going to be harmful for the nature.

Lastly, the writer, when promoting a boycott, assumes that, people will exactly know which products include the copper materials produced by CCC, let alone which products include copper. In this type of world, this is rather awkward to assume that people are so knowledgeable. How can an ordinary person know what kind of products are composed of copper? How would they know if there is no logo of CCC? Maybe CCC is not putting any logos to the products shipped to the third party sellers for budgetary reasons. Perhaps there are some materials made of copper in our smartphones, but they may all be embedded in some hard-to-reach-part of the phones. Then how would people know who produced that specific copper-made-item? As seen, the argument author makes does not hold water.

Overall, the writer of the memo leaves too many questions unanswered, and, hence loses credibility. Therefore, argument made in the memo is less likely significantly to persuade the consumers not to choose CCC's copper made products.