Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that to gather necessary information that will be the determinant factor in solving child education habits of Tertia can be realized by interview-centered method may seem tenable at first glance. This way, anthropologists who support this idea make a valid argument, one that could be correct if its premises were true. However, their recommendation relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence.

Firstly, the offer to make a social experiment based on only one method is always in contrast with the very nature of science. To be able to make a reliable inference which will guide people on a specific matter, one should try all possible ways to build his or her opinions. Because all these methods come with their own benefits and drawbacks. In this specific example, it is very naive to believe what children say. Taking what they iterate at face value may sometimes be misleading. For example, the interviewee pool should be fair, valid and representative. If orphans are to be questioned, that would lead to a biased result. In addition, maybe in this particular society, children are told not to tell the truth when they interact with foreigners. May be it is a very closed culture and its members do not trust strangers, so they lie deliberately just to divert them to irrelevant results. Thus, scientist should not stick to only one method to investigate a foreign culture to reach dependable information.

Secondly, Dr. Karp’s conducted investigation presumes that children’s talking about their biological parents during the interview clearly indicates that children are reared by their parents. This assumption may hold true for open societies, however, the case is about a foreign village of which social norms are unknown to modern people. To be able to grasp the necessary information through interview method can be deceptive. For instance, even in modern world people encounter secret societies for which sharing information about the organization is banned. How can one be sure to learn everything by just talking to some members? In this sense, the power of observation is not only helpful, but also necessary. So, scientists should consider a couple of compatible methods to conduct scientific researches.

All in all, it is necessary to consider all possible ways to solve a different culture, if science is the core aim here. In this vein, recommendation in the writing seems to be relying on baseless assumptions that weaken the persuasiveness of the scientists who offer to use only interview method.