In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Change in virtually every society around the world is occurring at almost lightning speed, for, people do not hesitate to look forward no matter what. As one of the major components of this fact, which is also mentioned in the prompt, contributions, are mainly coming from the ones who are experts in the relevant field. In this sense, I mostly disagree with the statement in the light of the matters mentioned below.

Firstly, experience is the collective knowledge that people utilize as a legacy remained from the past. It is like a lighthouse guiding the scientists, artists or people who are professionally in search for something that human beings are in need of. In this vein, it is unfair to give the credit to the newcomers. For example, Newton made thousands of experiments just to find the bulb. If he did not have the necessary information from his previous experiments, should not we wait for a couple of more years to have that luxury? Most probably people would have been continued using candles for a long time. Thus, the importance of experience should not be sidelined when it comes to inquiring.

Secondly, beginners frequently need direction, since they are not usually familiar with the process and decision taking steps. Thus, they should first learn to listen and get familiar with the working culture of the environment, otherwise they may be ridiculed. This is why all firms have an education department in their human resources section. This way, they educate young and rookies and get them familiar with the company and the people working there.

However, it is also a fact that, there is always a need for an outsider to see what is going on to break vicious circles and become more productive. For instance during 1990s, in my country Turkey, there was a devastating economical bottleneck which then government was paralyzed and helpless to overcome. What was did in the end was to bring technocrats, who were significantly lacking necessary political skills, to key positions in the government. They were professionals in their fields. Some were businessmen, some were scientists, and some were economists. In spite of the fact that they could not grasp the urge in ordinary people to bring necessary items back their home, they were quite clever in understanding the factual situation in general economy. At first, their policies were scolded harshly since they were not taking the situation of society into consideration, they were successful in controlling the economy in the long run. And in the end everybody thanked them.

To conclude, the prompt seems to be too lame when it comes to presenting the importance of experience. Thus, while, I mostly disagree with the statement, I believe that an outsider’s opinion sometimes can matter a lot.