The following appeared as an editorial in the student newspaper of Groveton College.

"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college students, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The editorial talks about how the honor code has proven successful in reducing the cheating instances in Groveton College and that other colleges should follow similar system. The honor code's viability is displayed by the reduction in the number of cheating cases reported and the survey of students where majority gave their vote to honor code. However, before we can be sure of this system, some questions are to be answered.

Firstly, it is said that when the old system was in place, around 30 cases were reported per year. After honor code, these reduced in number. But how credible are these numbers, since these are reported by students. It could be the case that students who cheat have made a pact that they won't tell upon each other creating a win-win situation for each of them. Hence, the reported numbers can go down this way too. During the older system, this wouldn't have happened as teachers won't take part in such ignoble actions and maybe that's why reported number were consistently high.

Secondly, the survey has been pointed out as one the indicators for the success of honor code. In the survey, students answered that they were less likely to cheat when honor code is in place. There is definitely a possibility that this is said in order to keep the new system in place as students have found out a convenient way of cheating. We also don't know who all are members of the Groverton Honor Council, maybe students representation is more than administrative body of the college. The survey results says that majority are happy with this new code. This means some students are against it , and would like to see the older one. If the new system is really efficient why are some students unhappy about it.

Until the above questions regarding the survey and reported cases data are not tweaked, we cannot be sure of the efficacy of the honor code which the editorial endorses.