The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client.

"Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Based on these developments, we predict a large increase in the demand for heating oil. Therefore, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter providing investment advice to its clients says that they should invest in Consolidated industries, whose major operation is the retail sale of home heating oil. It has given this advice because the firm thinks that demand for heating oil is going to go up in the near future. The firm has formed its opinion by using the fact that household in the northeastern states traditionally use heating oil, the weather forecasts and the large number of new homes built there. However, these reasons have to be substantiated with enough evidence to reach the conclusion which the firm already endorses.

Firstly, the firm advocates that the households have been using heating oil to warm up their homes in winter. But it does not quote any statistical measure of how many them still rely on heating oil. The use of the word "traditionally" makes us skeptical that maybe it were a thing of the past. Things once used traditionally can't be guaranteed to be used by the majority. Many reliable and efficient alternatives have come in the market like heat radiators that may prove more effective than the traditional system. So, until the percentage of the household is not mentioned nothing can be said concretely.

Secondly, the firm mentions weather forecasts as the reason for increase in demand. The forecasts mentioned are not a sure event. There is a probability that they might be off from their prediction. Even if they are on point, they mention that northeastern states will face below average temperatures, which can't be equated with long years of winter which the firm implies. Their claim regarding the increase in demand for heating oil rests upon their assumption of extended winter season which can't be predicted from the weather reports they mentioned.

Lastly, they correlate the newly made homes to the increase in demand but there are other major factors involved in this. What if the newly mad houses are not purchased by the people. It is probable that due to the weather forecast people who planned of shifting to Northeaster states won't shift. Also, the natives might be planning to move so some other warmer place thereby resulting a major decrease rather an increase for the demand of oil.

The firm should investigate further into the above mentioned points so that they can provide their clients a better and well-formed advice.