The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The recommendation provided by the personnel director says that by subscribing to the easy read course the company's employees' productivity will go up. The director come up with this plan after getting information about two graduates and their improvement in productivity and by concluding that Acme will definitely get a return on investment.

Firstly, is a positive result of two graduates a clear cut demarcation for the success of this course.

In other words, can we be really sure that the product does increase the reading speed by only knowing about two people who successfully achieved the result? What about others who took the course? The first graduate who was able to read 500 words, maybe was able to read 450 before taking the course. Now that isn't a really big improvement. One can't comment on his progress until one knows about his speed before taking the test. The second graduate might be having additional skills that made this meteoric rise possible .There are many variables and not just productivity/reading speed that makes promotion, and that too a really big one, achievable.

Secondly, if Acme is going to spend 500 dollars on each of its employee, then it has to make sure whether the product will be benefitting for the company at large or not. The information of the benefits provided in the letter just mention about two graduates which isn't complete. A comprehensive study of the employees and their work has to be made to make a sound conclusion about who needs the product. The company has to be sure that the amount spent on the product should increase the productivity of the employees that they get much work done.

Lastly, keeping other variables constant, how does an increase in reading speed of employees benefit the company as a whole. The argument rests on the assumption that if employees finish their work faster then they'll get more work done, but what if company has limited amount of work. What will the employees who have done their work do?

These are the questions that the above proposal should ponder upon before making any action.