Last week all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one third of what it used to be Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet

It might seem logical at first glance to agree with the mentioned argument by which modifying showerheads to constrain water flow for all twelve buildings instead of the only first three would be conducive for increasing corporation's profit as sunnyside corporation should pay monthly for the water. The author of the argument relies on what might be less credible or even unproven assumptions to support his/her claim. Before the claim can be properly evaluated, however, some questions must be answered.

Firstly, one problem regarding the argument is that the author indicates that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow leads to decreasing water usage, thereby increasing the corporation's profit far more. A question that comes to mind is how much water is attributed to the shower of owners? As the water usage before and after installing the new showerheads is not available, evaluating the amount of using water is almost impossible. this question deserves consideration before any decision is made regarding any type of change.

Secondly, the argument depends on a weak correlation. The author implies that by installing new showerheads, the water usage would be decreased. a question that arises is whether the piping system is effective and does not have any defect? What if there are leaky faucets? Gallons of water are wasted almost every day. If so, replacing new showerheads is not effective to reduce water usage in the building and the argument would be lack any merit.

Lastly, one more problematic argument is that the author points out that there are a few complaints about water pressure after modifying showerheads. In this scenario, knowing the occupancy rate would help to evaluate the argument appropriately. How many families are living in three buildings? It is worth mentioning that low occupancy in three buildings that experience showerhead replacement leads to a low number of complaints about water pressure and vice versa. In addition to this, low water pressure cause longer taking shower to compensate for the reduction which in turn triggers wasting more water. Apparently, the author is faced with potentially unrepresentative statistical results which are not significant in size. If so, then the argument would amount to especially poor recommendations.

To conclude, despite the argument suffering from several problems and is unconvincing, we can not absolutely rely on or refute it without pursuing further assumptions and reasoning. The author can strengthen his/her assertion by answering the questions above while offering more evidence. Without these changes the argument is implausible and reasoning is faulty.