Some people say that young people can learn useful skills by playing electronic and computer games. Others say that young people who play electronic and computer games are wasting their time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People are calling into question the usefulness of playing computer games. While some advocate the idea that they may prove beneficial for the gamers’ skill development, others dismiss them as a complete waste of time. Both sides of the argument present rational ideas, which will be elaborated.

On the one hand, supporters of virtual games assert that the benefits accruing from them are by no means negligible. To begin with, since the vast majority of these games have been designed strategically, they enable users to devise strategic plans efficiently. That is to say, having faced difficult situations on numerous occasions, they have the ability to make judicious and down‐to‐earth decisions in real‐life contexts as well. For instance, when tackling a challenge or being faced with a dilemma in the workplace, these players are more likely to display acumen and take a decisive action to overcome the difficulty. Moreover, accustomed to anxiety, they can easily cope with stress. This in turn has a far‐reaching positive impact on their performance, affecting manifold aspects of their personal life.

On the other hand, others put forward the argument that these activities are wasteful by nature. The most compelling reason justifying their assertion is that the time and energy expended on playing computer games can be put to better use. In other words, instead of playing games, young people can allot this time and effort to acquiring useful and even marketable skills. More specifically, they can require special expertise useful for either academic or professional progress. A good illustration of this is learning a foreign language, which can give them a competitive edge both on the job market and in their academic life. Furthermore, no lasting and tangible benefit can be reaped of these games; all they provide players with is fleeting excitement.

To conclude, there are logical points on both sides; however, I am of the opinion that young people should not waste their precious time with fruitless pastimes such as computer games. This is mainly because they can use the opportunity to build up other skills instead of getting involved in something with short‐lived effects.