The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the memorandum the business manager states that, replacing butter by margarine has little impact on their customers. He asserts that customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term butter to refer to either butter or margarine. To support this idea he states that only 2 percent has complained about the change. also customers who ask for butter do not complain after getting margarine instead. Before evaluating these facts the manager need to give some logical explanation about some topics.

First of all The managers assumes that only 2 percent customers complained about the change means others are not able to distinguish between butter and margarine. He can not overlook the possibility that may be the customers liked the taste of margarine more than butter. For that reason most of them did not raise any objection. If this assumption has merit, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Another reason can be true which is customers who did not complain after getting margarine instead of butter, are not interested in creating a scene. But they can stop going to the restaurants for not getting the previous taste. If it is true the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. The manager must substantiate the assumptions and give logical explanation . Then the argument can be evaluated properly.