Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free. I mostly agree with this assertion for some reasons.

First of all, In formal education it gives us theories, facts which we have to admit. We don't get the opportunity to explore in that area. We have to be confined in the topics and syllabuses that our institution provides us. One can not choose the subject of his choice due to this restrictions in our education system.

Secondly, Formal education system is not interactive. So students can not express their thoughts about a specific topic. Suppose a meritorious student has some questions about a topic of science, sometimes the teachers are not able to answer those questions due to time and resource shortage. So, he will be demotivated to learn further about that topic. Thus it will restrain his spirit on science and topics will not be clear to him. And with a perfunctory idea about a topic no one can prosper in the long run.

Again, Formal education does not help one to choose the career path. Because there is a lack of courses which helps students to be ready for the future world. If someone has to learn about the job market, he needs to communicate with different persons from different sectors. If our education system gives us proper knowledge about the job market, It would be easier for students to choose the right track at an early age.

In sum, It can be said in order to set our mind and spirit free, formal education process should be changed by the authority to make the process more interactive .