Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Conducting a research and predicting the output is a common yet unreliable process which leaves us in uncertainty of the results factual accuracy. Experimentation in new fields of research without any expectation may sometime lead to unknown but desireable results.

Limiting a research in a specific field were we have found acceptable results may lead to stagnation of knowledge in that perticular area and might be that the case that no conclusive application was found on the further investment of time on the research work. To give an example, it is proven that an efficiency of a petrol engine is about 53 percent( It gives out about 53% of the input energy as output). Many researchers have spent a consideracle amount of time of their lives to increase the efficiency of the Petrol Engine, but it proved to be futile

In many cases, and advanced application from the already investigated areas which may not be applied in the current level of technologies present around us. To clarify this case,it is proven that Carbon fibre (A composite material made of Carbon Nanopaticles) is material which has higher strength than metals in some cases. The brake system of a car made using a carbon fibre brake disc has a better better potentail to deccelerate the vehicle yet the surrounding components needed for this technology to work smoothly are not capable enough to work harmoniously with the carbon brake discs

Researching in vidid areas may bring us in limelite of some unknows facts of the known areas of research. Continuing on the example of the Petrol Engine, when researchers decided to couyple the engine with a motor , they came to realisation of the fact that using enegry that is descipated through varuous means and storingb them in a form of electricity my directly give rise to efficiency of the Petrol engine.

Not Discounting the fact that we have a pre-research base for an already studied field, it helps us take a step forward in the exestential research work but it will not confirm you results, to give an example for this, Researchers have been scrating their heads on the possible application of string theory have a pre base of many years of research. It still has bore no fruits of success for the field.

To Conclude, In opine for not being stagnated on one area of research and explore other fields to conclusivly sutdy the pre researched field or find alternative solution for the application purpose.