The following appeared in a memorandum from the mayor of Wistfold.

“A recent study revealed that the number of children requiring medical attention for

illnesses in our town is 40 percent higher than in the neighboring town of Champsfield.

Last year the Champsfield school district implemented an educational program called

“Kerzac Plus” that promotes healthier habits among children. Because prepackaged

convenience foods have less nutritional value than fresh fruits and vegetables, Kerzac Plus

guidance led to banning the sale of candy bars and soft drinks in Champsfield schools.

Kerzac Plus also provides informational posters and live presentations for children that

explain the importance of healthy foods and exercise, as well as the risks of making

unhealthy lifestyle choices. The clearest explanation for the lower medical needs of

Champsfield’s children compared withWistfold’s is the introduction of the Kerzac Plus

program to promote student health.”

The agrument behind the memorandum from the mayor of Wistfold is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily it is based on the unwarrented assumption that the city of Wistfold and Champsfield are the same, rendering the conclusion that introduction of the Kerzac Plus program to promote student health is invalid.

The agrument suggests that Wistfold has illness rate among children approximately 40% higher than Champsfiels. It doesn't provide us any information about the population of respective cities. Assuming that Wistfold may have lower population than Champsfield and have equal number of illness cases, then the percentage representation ought to be higher compared to the city with higher population.

Climatic conditions such Air Quality Index, Precipitation Percentage and Humidity also play a vital role in the immunology of the populace. If the agrument provided data about similarity of these parameter between these two cities then it would bolster the agrument. Other ecological conditions such as water cleanliness and average noise pollution were not considered in the agrument. Pathogens can travel through contaminated water that could very well affect children. This has no relation to what Kerzac Plus promotes yet it is one of the important factors to be considered before the implementation of Kerzac Plus.

While Kerzac Plus will be beneficial in gerenal, consumption of candies and soda by the children will not halt with banning of these items in the school. These items can still be bought and consumed from the general convenience store which might be present right around the corner of ones home. The implementation of posters and advertisements for promotion of healthy lifestyle and exercise is present in the argument yet no data upon the student following this promoted lifestyle is provided. Any details regarding inclusion of exercise related activities in their daily curriculum to promote healthy lifestyle will greatly support the argument.

Because the argument makes several unwarrented assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that introduction of the Kerzac Plus program will improve the number of child requiring medical attention for illness in Wistfold.