To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leader is a person to whom everyone looks up for guidance and direction. Leader has a great influence on those who look up to. The prompt claims that for a public official to be an effective leader, he/she must maintain highest ethical and moral standards.

To begin with, a public official will be highly publizised figure because everyone should know what he is doing for the welfare of the public. The media, along with broadcasting the service they does also broadcasts even more aggrassively, his personality as the public will be curios to know what the person is inherently. Therefore, it must be a significant charactersitic of the person to maintain highest ethical and moral standards. Only if his demeanor is seemly will he gain the respect of the public and the public will diligently follow any rule or ordinance passed by the public official. On the contrary, if his ehtos are morally degenerated, the public would denigrate him for being such a bad role model not just for the grown ups but also to children who could be the same leaders someday in the future. Hence, the public official is not just feel obligated but he should oblige to carry himself properly in the public keeping in mind that there would be many people observing him and he should no be a bad example for them.

Moreover, it is not only in these times when every move of the public official is observed but even in times when a public official in not highly publizised do the official can influence the masses to a great extent. For example, let us take the case of Mahatma Gandhi. Mahatma Gandhi is considered as the father of the Nation in India. One would argue that this is because he is the linchpin who brought Independence to India. But if we observe his life closely, on can be certain that people call him the Father of the Nation not for just bring independcen but also for the path he had taken for bring that Independence. One could imagine the sheer bloodshed during the World War 2 and given the population of India, there is no doubt that there would be a similar sanguiry if India had taken a tempestuous path for gaining Independece. Instead, Gandhi advocated a path of non-voilence for fighting for independence. This character of Gandhi made him gain respect not just in India but all over the world. No one in the era of Gandhi would have imagined the impact of his demeanor even after almost 70 years of his death. The people of India now follow non-violence diligently in every possible manner they can. Thus, it is imperative for a leader to maintain utmost standards of ethics because they have the potential to millions of people.

One might argue that a leader cannot get his/her work done if the person always carries him/herself with dignity and decorum and it is fine for the leader to deviate from the path of propriety now and then. However, it is more often than not that there are multiple ways for a person to acheive something. If the person is determined to get the work done with dignity and decorum, the person can get the work done with composure. As the saying goes - where there is a will there is a way.