Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The government of a country allocates the money abtained through taxes for different purposes in its annual budget. The priority of these spendings depends various factors like GDP, average per capita income, percentage of population below poverty line, literacy rate, etc. The prompt suggests that the government should cease funding for arts when there is significant number of population that goes to bed hungry or when there is humongous unemployment. I agree with the prompt and feel that people's access to food and employment are more important for the well being of a nation for the following reasons.

Firstly, there a few basic necessities for people to survive heathily and peacefully. They are drinking water, food, shelter, education and job to name a few. The development of a nation is defined by how much percentage of the population have access to drinking water, healthy food, permanent shelter, minimum education and secure jobs. These elements form the pith of a nation. On the other hand, arts is not as important as the above mentioned elements for either survival or the development of a nation. One can call the field of arts secondary and hence can be given lesser importance when a country is economically backward. Thus, a nation should allocate funds to make sure that its population has sufficient food supply to survive and experience a life that is gifted to them. It should also make sure that enough number of jobs are being created by helping setup small bussiness and encouraging foreign investment by providing incentives to multinational companies. Instead, if funds are allocated to arts when a country is going through a turmoil, the provision of basic necessities required for survival take a back seat and thus, serve to hinder the develpment of a nation.

Secondly, not everyone is interested in arts. People have their own predelictions and one can be sure that people who are interested in arts will not be in substantial number. And on top of that, if a country is in predicament due to lack of jobs and availbility of basic amenities to its population, one can be sure that no one would be interested in arts. They would rather worry about surviving each day. In such scenrio, it is fatuous to allocate funds to promote arts when people are suffering from bigger problems. Thus, to allocate funds to arts would be like spilling milk on the ground - profligating funds that would rather be used for the upliftment of the lives of the needy.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot ignore a few exceptions. People are creative beings. Arts succor them to express their feelings as well as impart moral lessons to filials. Arts help people pass on cultures from one generation to another. Given the role of arts in the lives of the people, it is also important to promote arts but not at the expense of suffering of the people.

To recapitulate, the lives of the people and the employment in a nation are more important for the well being as well as the development of a nation. Arts should be considered a susidiary element when allocating the funds in the annual budget so that the problems faces by the people are tackled first.