In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take.
In developing and supporting your position,
you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.
I agree that any art work would have merit only when it is understandable by most people. The merit of an art is appraised by the number of
people that are able to understand the message in the art. Having said that, in contrast, there can also be scenarios where an art is not
understood by many but still holds merit.
First, various art forms like films, novels, songs etc are generally used as means to express or convey a message or a thought. Expressing
thoughts this way has a stronger impact than just preaching them to a group of people. But using art to spread a message can be tricky as
one should use precise tactics to rightly convey the message. There can be scenarios where the art is not able to convey the intended
meaning or somemtimes no meaning at all. If that is the case, then the very purpose of creating the art is not acheived. An art
can fulfil its incubency only when the message embedded in the art is comprehensible by the viewers. The value of an art can be appraised by the portion of
masses that understand the message embedded in it. Only when the art is appreciated by the people will its value increase and have substantial merit.
Second, art is sometimes created to generate money. For example, let us take the example of films. Avatar was released in India amidst a lot of fanfare.
Much to the movie buffs' delight, the film did very well thanks to its universal storyline and a strong message to save the natural resources on our
planet. It stands out to be the highest revenue generated for a Hollywood film in India. This would not have been possible if it was not understood by
both adults and the kids alike. On the other hand, there is another Indian move named "One". It fared very poorly at the box office for its
bland and incomprehensible story line. This is an epitome of how an art cannot generate good amount of revenue if it is not comprehensibe by the masses.
However, it is plausible that an art would have substantial merit even though it is not understood by most people. In this context, I would like
to cite the example of a movie, named "Interstellar". Despite its popularity amongst the academia, the film did not do well in the general public
as its story sounded arcane to them. The movie has been hailed for the ways it had shown near perfect depection of some of the scientific events
that was never witnessed by a human eye. Once such example from the movie is the way it had potrayed black holes. The pedagogs are so enthralled
by the view of the black hole in the movie that it looked just like the acutual black hole that was captured a couple of years later. Though
it might not have been understood by most people, this movie is still considered as one of masterpeices that we have produced.
Hence, I beleive that an art would have a merit only if it is understandable by most people because it is only when people understand the meaning
of the art will its' value be appreciated and at the same time, the art can generate a substantial amount of revenue. Sometimes, in contrast, the
art is said to have merit even if it is not fathomable by the masses because its meaning might not be deciperable by common people and only a few
erudite folks can understand it.