Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The manager recommends that they restore the time devoted to weather and local news in their late-night news program to its previous levels to increase the number of viewers as well as to rein the lose of revenue from advertising. He suggests this based on the complaints received from the viewers about the coverage of weather and local news over the past year during which the time devoted to national news was increased and withdrawal of advertising contracts by the local businesses. However, before the argument can be properly evaluate, one would require the following pieces of evidence.

Firstly, what are the complaints exactly about? In other words, what are the viewers unhappy about the coverage of weather and local news? The author does not provide any details about the specifics of the complaints. There is a possibility that the viewers were complaining about the quality of the weather and local news rather than the quantity. It might be the case that the viewers are not being given relevant weather and local news and in contrast, the station might be broadcasting inconsequential news that proves to be of no use to the viewers. If this is the scenario, then the manager's prediction that viwership would increase just by increasing the time for weather and local news would fall flat on its face.

Seondly, is there a change in the customers' viewing habits? The manager prematurely assumes that they draw more viewers simply by increasing the time for weather and local news. But, what if the people in the locality got accostumed to other forms of media? It is possible that there was prolifiration of other media platforms like Netflix, Youtube, etc. People in the locality might be finding them more engaging than the station's news program. If this turns out to be true, the manager's argument does not hold water.

Finally, was there any new station started in the past one year? The manager states that their station lost advertising revenue from the local businesses over the past one year and imputes that to decreased time for weather and local news as well as the complaints from the viewers. However, it is highly possible that a new station was started and the local businesses signed contracts with the new station. Perhaps, the new station was more economical for advertising and thus, the local businesses chose to go for the new station. In such case, the manager will not regain his clients even if they increase the time for weather and local news.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as the manager does not provide any evidence that help answer the above posed questions. One will be in a better position to evaluate the argument if the author can provide further evidence in a detailed manner leaving no room for ambiguity.