The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The mayor of Hopewell recommends that they build golf course in their town to alleviate the economy and generate additoinal tax revenues. The mayor suggests this based on the increase in tourism, new businesses and consequently, tax reveues in the nearby town of Ocean View after they have built a golf course two years ago. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated, one would require answers to the following questions.

Firstly, are the two towns, Ocean View and Hopewell, similar? In other words, can the circumstances from one town be used to generalize and predict for another town? There is a possibility that the two towns are remakably different - perhaps Ocean View has all the geographical prerequiistes like an ocean view for tourism to flourish while Hopewell's geography with presence of oil wells hinders the development of tourism in the town. Furthermore, it is possible that the atmoshpere in Ocean View is serene encouraging tourists to come for a peaceful vacation whereas the air in Hopewell is laden with dust due to rugged roads and oil well drilling discouraging tourists to come in. If either of the scenario has merit, then the mayor's prediction that tourism would improve after builiding a golf course in the town will fall flat on its face.

Secondly, how confident can one be about the prospects of tourism in the town when the nearby town has already developed the infrastructure needed for tourism? The mayor prematurely assumes that he would observe a similar tourism boom in the town if a golf course is built. However, this may not turn out to become a reality. One can argue that since the nearby town is already providing enough aminities for people to come and relax and it has been quite some time since it is kicked off tourism, people may be disinclined to choose a new town that is just getting started in tourism as their holiday destination. If the above case turns out to be true, the mayor's argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, are people in the town interested in starting new businesses? It is possible that the people in the town are primarily employed in Oil industry in the town and are not free enough to start new businesses in the town. Or perhaps, the people in the town have already set up new businesses in the near by town Ocean View and are reluctant to return back to their town because of the already established lucrative businesses in the nearby town. If that is the case, then much to the mayor's dissappointment, new businesses will not be started in the town after the golf course is built.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpursuasive as the mayor does not provide any information addressing any of the above posed questoins. One would be in a better position to evaluate the recommendation if the mayor can provide answers to the above questions, perhaps, in a detailed manner leaving no room for ambiguity.