To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A leader is a person to whom everyone looks up to for guidance and direction. A leader has a great influence on the acolytes. The prompt claims that for a public official to be an effective leader, he/she must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards, and I agree with the prompt for the following reasons.

To begin with, a public official will be a highly publicized figure because everyone should know what he is doing for the welfare of the public. The media, along with broadcasting the service, also broadcasts even more aggressively, his personality as the public will be curious to know what the person is innately. Therefore, it must be a pivotal characteristic of the person to maintain the highest ethical and moral standards. Only if his demeanor is seemly will he gain the respect of the public and the public will diligently follow a rule or ordinance passed by the public official. On the contrary, if his ethos is morally degenerate, the public would denigrate him for being such a bad role model not just for the grown-ups but also for children who could grow up to become the same leaders someday in the future. Hence, the public official should not just feel obligated but he should oblige to carry himself properly in the public keeping in mind that there would be many people observing him and he should not be a bad example for them.

Moreover, it is not only in these times when every move of the public official is observed but even in times when a public official is not highly publicized, the official can influence the masses to a great extent. For example, let us take the case of Mahatma Gandhi. Mahatma Gandhi is considered the Father of the Nation in India. One would argue that this is because he was the linchpin who brought Independence to India. But if we observe his life closely, one can be certain that people call him the Father of the Nation not for just bringing independence but also for the path he had taken for bringing that Independence. One could imagine the sheer bloodshed during World War 2 and given the population of India, there is no doubt that there would be a similar sanguinary if not even more if India had taken a tempestuous path for gaining Independence. Instead, Gandhi advocated a path of non-violence for fighting for independence. This character of Gandhi made him gain respect not just in India but all over the world. No one in the era of Gandhi would have imagined the impact of his demeanor even after almost 70 years of his death. The people of India now follow non-violence diligently in every possible manner they can. Thus, it is imperative for a leader to maintain the utmost standards of ethics because they have the potential to influence millions of people.

One might argue that a leader cannot get his/her work done if the person always carries him/herself with dignity and decorum and it is fine for the leader to deviate from the path of propriety now and then. However, it is more often than not that there are multiple ways for a person to achieve something. If the person is determined to get the work done with dignity and decorum, the person can get the work done with composure. As the saying goes - where there is a will there is a way.