The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We as a human specie have an advantage over other species in that we are capable of performing highly intellectual tasks that most other species are not capable of.However, we are not born the way we are. Every human being starts off inaptly and as we learn things from experineces around, we gain the capability to perform even better. The prompt suggests that the pith of technological advancment should be to increase people's efficacy so that they can have leisure time. I diagree with the promt for the following reasons.

To begin with, we see people pursuing different fields of research to solve countless problems at their disposal. These researches can take months if not even years to complete them. However, their research can be expedited with the help of technological advancements that are happening at a rapid rate in the current era. It is true that technological advancements improve the efficiany of the people by manifold but the primary goal of developing such technological advancements is to solve the problems quickly to benefit the benificiary as soon as possible rather than solvging the problem quickly so that the involved personnel will have leisure time. Let us take the example of electron microscope. Before electron microscope was invented, researchers had to us optical microscopes to carry out their research. With optical microscope, people could one magnify the microscopes only so much that they could hardly see the actual microbes and how different chemicals interact with their cell body. It is imperative for them to understand how different drugs affect microbes so that they could develop vaccines to save cornicopia of patients that are suffering from various diseases. Hence, it was an utmost necessity for scientists to develop a more technologically advanced microscope to help solve pandemics as soon as possible so that people get redeemed of their sufferings and not for the purpose of providing leisure time to the researchers who develop drugs and vaccines.

Moreover, human beings are being haunted with many questions since the inception of the species. How did we come into existence? Is there any alien life? Was there life present on other planets? Researchers from various fields spend countless hours trying to arrive at a plausible answer to the questions. At the same time, we are witnessing marvelous technological advancments to help aid their research. For instance, let us look into the technology that NASA is using to ascertain the existenc of life on the planet Mars. Previously, astronomers primarily dependend on the images of from the telescopes that are stationed on the earth to try to study the surface of Mars and infer if life existed on Mars. Subsequently, they started using telecscopes launced into the space to get a closer look at Mars. However, these technologies seemed to provide only so much information that the scientists were not able to better understand the mars. Then can the rovers, which were able to land on the surface of Mars and help get even better and closer pictures of the surface of the Mars. Additionally, they also measure various characteristics of the atmoshpere and soil composition. Equipped with the prolific information, scientists are now in a position to come to conclusions with substantial confidence. This would not have been possible if it was not for the technology that was developed to primarily solve problems rather their primary goal being improve the efficency of the scientists so that they can have more leisure time.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot overlook certain exceptions. There are quite a few tasks in the purview of jobs carried out by the humans that are repetative in nature. There is absolutely no point in humans doing such mundane tasks are humans a capable of performing highly intellectual tasks. So, it should be the primary goal some technological advancements to improve the efficency of people so that they can dedicate their time for other useful tasks like - spending time with the family, learning a new skill etc.

Hence, the primary goal of technological advancements should be to solve problems that can alleviate the lives of myraid of people and aid people in cutting edge research rather than just improve the efficency of the poeple so that they can have more leisure time.