What are some of the qualities of a good parent? Use specific details and examples to explain your answer.

Different parents can have different thoughts about what makes them good parents. While some feel that a parent should have a martinet attitude towards their children, others believe in providing their children with unbridled freedom. I personally feel that providing proper guidance, being friendly towards their children and being open minded makes a parent a good parent for the following reasons.

Firstly, children do not have the cognitive ability to decipher what is good and what is bad. If children are left on their own, they would perform actions that they feel like doing without much ratiocination even though their actions are wrong. Good parents are those who immediately identify the fallacies in their children and guide them to the correct path. Good parents should also inculcate morals to their children so that they take the right paths even if their parents are not close by to monitor them. Thus, providing guidance to their children is one of the ideal characteristics of good parents.

Secondly, parents should be friendly and kind towards their children. Children always yearn to spend time with their parents. They look up to their parents in difficult times and do not hesitate to share joy with them. Thus, children can develop a strong bond with their parents only when they are friendly towards them. Moreover, when children share a strong bond with their parents, they are more likely to share their grievances like bullying at school or child abuse with them. This interactions can help the children stay healthy psychologically. Therefore, it is important that parents are amicable towards their flails.

Finally, parents should be open minded towards their children. One should understand that there will be changes in the way people behave or in the cultures as generations pass by. It is the responsibility of the parents to acknowledge those changes and accept them if their children are a part such changes. On the contrary, if one is intolerant and does not accept changes that come with following generations, it is sure that they will have a acrimonious relationship with their children. Such a relationship will eventually affect the psychological behavior the children.

To sum up, providing proper and timely guidance, being friendly towards their children and at the same time, being open minded are the ideal characteristics of good parents.