Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author recommends that the student evaluation of professors in Omega University be eleminated in that it is due to this procedure that the students are being inoridnately awarded grades by the professors. Consequently, the potential employers feel that the students' grades are inflated due to which the students have not been successful in securing jobs as have graduates from Alpha University. However, before the recommendation can be completely evaluated, we would need specific evidences to find out the effects of the recommendation.

Firstly, the author prematurely assumes that the students are being awarded grades more than they deserve due to evaluation of the professors by the students. Though, at first glance, this may seem plausible, upon further comtemplation, one would need further evidences to ascertain that the reason stated is not facial. It could very well be the case that the students are securing good grades because the professors, who are aware of the evaluation by the students, have improved their way of delivery so as to get good rating by the students. Consequently, having exposed to a better way of delivery by the professors, the students are able to better understand the concepts and thus, are able to perfome well on their tests. Hence, if this proves to be true, then the the author's recommendation would not prove to provide the anticipated results.

Secondly, though the author's claim that the students are inordinately given good grades would have been true 15 years ago when this procedure was first started, the author takes the liberty of assuming that this is still the case even after 15 years. Since, the faculty would not have sufficient time to adjust to the new procedure immediately, there is a probability the professors had to appease the students by awarding the grades liberally so as to get good rating and thus, avoid getting removed from the job. However, the author cannot assume it to be still applicable even after so many years as 15 years would be more than sufficient to detect and supress any such malpractices. Therefore, there is very high probability that this would be the case and it would unexceptionably weaken the author's argument.

Moreover, the author fallaciously assumes that the skills that the graduates from both the Universities: Omega and Alpha, possess are the same. It may be the case that the graduates from Alpha University have the skillset that are in high demand in the job market while the gradates from Omega University may possess the skillset that is impertinent to the job market. If that is the case, then implementing the author's recommendation would not prove to be beneficial to the students of Omega University but rather can have an adverse effect as there are chances that the quality of the teaching by the professors can get deteriorated.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is untenable as it relies on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions. In fact, one would be in a better postion to evaluate the recommendation by the author if the author can provide evidence that the above stated scenarios are not true.