Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the argument that student evaluation of professors should be terminate in Omega University in order to firmly evaluate students’ ability. However, in order to fully evaluate this argument, a significant amount of additional evidence should be provided.

The first piece of evidence that we need in order to examine the conclusion is the information about the relationship between the implementation of student evaluation system and the soaring overall grades of students. Firstly, there is not strong evidence to suggest that the new procedure would encourage professor to assign higher grades in order to get good remarks from students. Perhaps some professors’ humorous teaching styles would help them earn good reputations among students. Besides, the overall rising averages at Omega University could caused by other factors such as students’ learning abilities. By no means can we deny the possibility that the university might upgrade their standards of enrollment, and thereby students might be more intelligent and industrious compared with those 15 years ago. If it is the case, the conclusion that implementing new procedure would lead to dramatic rise in grades would be seriously weakened.

Another piece of evidence require additional information is that Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting job opportunities as those from Alpha University. It could turn out to be the case, for example, that the Omega was a university that emphasizes subjects of Liberal Arts which are not so promising as science and engineering subjects, but Alpha taught more engineering subjects. Therefore, graduates from Alpha might have more pragmatic and practical skills to help them get jobs easily. Furthermore, as seeking job opportunities doesn’t totally depend on students’ academic achievements, perhaps it is because Alpha University offered more courses that train students to tackle the interviewers from corporations and firms that students there could know more about how to earn the preference from interviewers; however, students in Omega might lack such worldly abilities. If we were to learn that the different teaching contents of the two universities may be the root of why students have differences when finding jobs, it would significantly undermine the conclusion.

In conclusion, additional evidence need to be attached to the article to help us evaluation the conclusion that the student evaluation of professors would undermine students’ ability of seeking jobs, so it should be terminated in Omega. The missing evidence involves both the valid causality between such a procedure and the inaccurate academic assessment and the contents of study in two distinct universities.