Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

According to a survey, the average tuition fee for undergraduate study in UK is approximately 10,000 pounds annually, while that for postgraduate study is roughly 13,000 pounds per year. Therefore, nowadays, it is not uncommon to see a large number of students from less well-off families give up the offers of their dream schools. In order to address this problem, some people propose a policy that government pay for university students who cannot afford their tuition fees. From my point of view, I admit that such a policy might be somewhat effective to assist students from low income families, yet I cannot neglect the potential negative effects followed by this assistance.

There is no doubt that a free university education would be conducive to support students from insufficient families. For instance, a report in 2017 suggested that even a middle-class family had trouble paying for their son’s tuition of University of Pennsylvania without any loans and grants, and nearly three quarters of students complained about the high expenditures in universities. Thus, it seems to be reasonable for governments to pay for high education of these vulnerable groups so as to guarantee the equality of education opportunities. If governments offer these grants, the economic conditions of various families would not be the restrictions for entering students to pursue high education as long as they could get enrolled. However, such a policy is too ideal to take into practice, especially when it comes to a complete unbiased and impartial standard to identify the needy family. Besides, the free university education for the impoverished groups could lead to another kind of inequality which, in fact, sabotages the interests of well-off families since they still need to pay for themselves. Certainly, we cannot deny the effectiveness of the proposal; however, by no means can we ignore a couple of side effects it may cause.

On the other hand, this seemingly impeccable policy can backfire in spite of its eleemosynary intention. In fact, Germany had implemented a policy offering free university education for several years, while the government considered charging again in 2006. What could be the cause? The truth is that students might take the government’s assistance for granted, and thereby they are unlikely to cherish the opportunity of getting high education as well as try their best to perform well because of lack of motivation. However, governments could take alternative measures to provide financial aids rather than merely exempting tuition from less well-off students. Firstly of all, they could offer school loan with low interest so that students, knowing that they are actually supporting themselves, would treat their academic work more seriously; additionally, scholarships for top students would be effective too as student are more likely to pursue outstanding marks in order to get rewards. To sum up, absolute free university education without any restriction is an oversimplified method which is proved to be less effective, and alternatives that would incite students’ motivation are better choices.

In conclusion, it is not easy to determine whether government should provide free university education to students from low income families as it is actually conducive for students subject to drop out but does have its drawbacks such as the difficulty of setting up standard and the potential to lessen students’ motivation. As far as I’m concerned, I tend to favor other alternative solutions including school grants, fellowships and etc.