Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to the sentences of various criminals, the punishments largely depends on the legislation system in my country China. There is no doubt that legislation is the most objective and unbiased criteria, but some people hold the opinion that other peripheral components should be taken into consideration regarding to the decision of final sentence. From my point of view, it is true fixed punishment is definitely necessary in certain occasions, yet other ingredients like incentives and circumstance are also supposed to be referred to, and let me illustrate my perspective as follows.

To begin with, punishments should be fixed for each category of crime, and this implementation would be beneficial on a large scale. Firstly, it would be time-efficient for administration and government because there won’t be many necessities for discussions on a court. For another aspect, citizens are likely to be more convinced by the law system, which is unprejudiced in any circumstance, and thereby people might be more satisfied about the administration of their country. Briefly, fixed penalties could be somewhat advantageous for both government and dwellers.

Nevertheless, other peripheral parts are supposed to be considered as to different incentive of crime. For one thing, personal situation should be partially taken into account when deciding the final penalty. For example, a murderer in China murdered six people because they utilized his mother to browbeat him in 2017. What I’m trying to say is that in such an urgent occasion, he perpetrated the murder due to no alternative solution, and subsequently, the judger on the court lessened his imprisonment. In short, it is inevitable for administration department to make a reference on criminal’s circumstance at the time of crime.

For another aspect, what motivates law violators to commit certain crimes should also be referred to in order to make the sentence more justifiable. Some criminals might go astray and be seduced by other things like others’ aggressive words, and they should not be given heavy penalty if they confess lately. However, for those recidivists who commit felonies simply because of their incorrigible human nature, their sentences should be prolonged. To sum up, it only makes sense that original motivation for committing crimes are counted when making punishments.

In conclusion, criminals’ punishments should largely depend on fixed standards for each type of crime and slightly take other situations into consideration like their situations and motivations. Just like an old saying in China goes ‘Every evil has its own temptation’.