Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

It is said that the government should impose a fixed punishment for every type of crime. While I accept that there are some advantages to each type of crime obtain a fixed fine, I strongly believe that the authority should take the situation of each person into consideration when making sentences.

On the one hand, there are several reasons for why every crime has its own punishment. One of the major factors is that it is time saving for determination in cases having the same result. For example, every murder have to serve life-sentence even they do not intentionally. Additionally, fixed punishment could help to enhance the awareness of citizens about how heavy the fine is when they sentenced. As a result, these punishments act as a deterrent to make people think carefully before breaking the law.

On the other hand, I completely believe that government should have a careful inspection about each person’s context and their motivation when they commit the crime to decide the punishment. The major reason for this is that it assists profoundly in showing the moral aspect in humanity. Although people who commit the crime must learn that unlawful actions have consequences, a decrease in punishment depending on their circumstances will give them a chance to fix their mistake and change their attitude. Considering the offender’s circumstances and motivation is advantageous in a way that it still contains the hopefulness for people who are accidentally guilty to embark their new life after being punished. For instance, in case of being sexual abuse, the offenders have to protect themselves from attack by hitting the opponent which lead them break the law.

In conclusion, despite the fact that a fixed fine have some positive effects, I also argued that the authority should consider the situation and motivation of each person when judging and making decisions.