Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is true that a fixed punishment could be assigned for all kind of offenders, while some people claim that there should be included several factors ranging from an unintended crime to serious offence to give punishment for criminals. In this essay will be discussed both views and reach a conclusion.

Reducing the rate of crime can be achieved when there is fixed punishment. In other words, punishment will be more objective and not depend on judge’s opinion. It means that the decision in court will be made only according to the law. Secondly, this type of punishment is a more efficient deterrent when people know the exact consequences for crime they commit, so they would be aware of their fate if they attempt to disobey the law. Finally, fixed punishment saves time in court and is more cost effective due to the law which is already included how to punish the offender.

In contrary, it will be fairer for all criminals when there are individual approaches in punishments given. Not all crimes are committed under the same circumstances. Manslaughter, as an example, is person who offends someone with unintended purpose like self-defense and should have lighter punishment comparing to the serial murderer or recidivist who have a long prison record. Furthermore, personal circumstances, as well as extreme poverty and mental health should be considered in order to give a fair punishment to offender.

To sum up, while the same punishment for all criminals significantly prevents crime objectively, the fairness for them cannot be guaranteed by fixed punishment. It is of importance to investigate each circumstance to avoid being unfair for lawbreaker with unconscious intent.