Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

As the competition of job market is becoming more and more rapid, even recent graduates are required to have working experience relevant to their target working. According to this contemporary situation, universities and colleges are considering to provide additional fieldwork in real companies so that their students could fit the society earlier. From my point of view, such an implementation is reasonable and even practical to some extent, yet it should also take other factors such as students' majors into consideration.

To begin with, there is no doubt that training outside school would benefit them a lot, especially for students engaging into engineering disciplines. The functions of colleges are somewhat limited, since most of the time, students need only listen to lectures and finish homework, but fieldwork is an indispensable part for students in order to truly understand the underlying principles of engineering subjects and prepare for their future careers. Northeast University in USA, taken as an example, requires every student to take participation in a wide range of working outside school during their summer vacation. After graduation, a large percentage of graduates highly recommend this kind of teaching method as it is conducive for their job prospects and some of them even got the formal offers from the firms they used to work before. To sum up, when it comes to job opportunities, working outside the academic world would be greatly helpful for graduates.

Nevertheless, spending too much time outside schools would backfire for students from other faculty. To be specific, real work is not a short period as students have to leave school for months, and thereby they could not concentrate on their academic work or even scientific researches. This could be more severe for students majoring in subjects regarding pure science. Firstly, the features and traits of these subjects determine that scientific researches would be better processed in school labs, so if students have to work outside school, these experiments are more likely to be postponed. Besides, unlike engineering subjects, science subjects are not too vocational, which is to say, it doesn’t necessarily mean that students have to find jobs after graduation but could stay in school and continue researching afterwards. In short, not all faculty has to set up fieldwork outside school, since it is not that necessary for science subjects and might undermine scientific processes.

In conclusion, it is not easy to evaluation the necessity of fieldwork for university students since it could be extremely helpful for students majoring in engineering subjects and targeting at future job opportunities, while it is not a requisite for those engaging in other science subjects. From my perspective, whether it should be add to curriculum or not should mainly depends on subjects and students’ willingness.