Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

A survey suggests that 67% of domestic waste was not fully recycled in my hometown Wuxi in 2017. This might derive from the prevalent use of disposable products, but some people think that it is due to no compulsory measure taken by local government so it is a necessity for administrations to enact relevant laws. From my point of view, laws could be effective regarding to the recycle of waste, yet some other measures could be helpful either.

To begin with, there is no doubt that making it an obligation for individuals to recycle waste would be the most efficient way. In fact, statistics reveal that the proportion of the product reuse has risen dramatically since government set up certain rules and regulations in Taiwan. In other words, citizens there are likely to pay penalty fees if they disobey the recycling laws, so they have to sort their garbage and collect those reusable products. In short, enhancing legislation related to recycling would improve current situation effectively.

Nevertheless, it would be so spontaneous for people to make enough use of domestic waste after enacting laws, and I think establishing a rewarding system might be more optimistic. What I’m trying to say is that communities could encourage people to collect those renewable products throughout offering them prizes and rewards. Therefore, dwellers in certain communities might be willing to help gather useful waste. For example, most place of residence has this service to exchange paper boxes for money in China and people are prone to take actions. Briefly, situation tends to be ameliorated if there’s a rewarding system about recycling.

In conclusion, measures linking to legislation would have positive effects when it comes to encouraging people to recycle, but it would be more helpful if people take actions out of their own willingness. There is also an old saying in China goes ‘Actions will be better when stemming from personal mind’.