Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Governments are facing a dilemma: there are a massive amount of problems are waited for them to solve, but currently the time and staff are limited. So how could they use the restricted resources to properly address on problems? Some people recommend that they should concentrate on the immediate problems of today instead of those that might occur in the future. From my point of view, such a recommendation is somewhat reasonable, but by no means could administrations ignore the possible issues which can be predicted in the future.

To begin with, it is true that governments should focus on exigent problems as they have already effected individuals or the whole society. Take criminal legislation as an example. Imagine this phenomenon that a large percentage of criminals are more likely to perpetrate the same crimes again after imprisonment, which would no doubt cause panic and chaos in society. This could be confidently asserted as an urgent problem, so in order to prevent these reprobates from committing again, governments should try their best to modify current legislation as well as sentence practice. Otherwise, if they ignore such an exigent issue and then tackle other anticipated problems, punishment towards criminals might lose their efficiency, and thereby criminal rate is less likely to decrease. In short, urgent issues, encompassing crime laws that might cause harmful influence in society if not handle with properly, should take the priority to be successfully addressed.

On the other hand, when current problems could be dealt with appropriately, governments should also tackle the anticipated problems in order to forestall them. A noticeable example is the waste classification that has been implemented in a lot of cities such as Shanghai. This implementation requires people to sort domestic garbage by reusable waste and disposable waste, so that waste plants could gather garbage that could be recycled in order to save resources. To be specific, governments, having realized that there could be a lack of resources in the future, enact a regulation at present in order to forestall future issues. To sum up, governments should also handle with predicted problems if they have more time and energy.

In conclusion, it is truly hard to decide which problem is more urgent for regulators to solve, current one or anticipated one, since they are both considerable. As far as I am concerned, immediate problems should be the priority, but future issues should never be overlooked.